Special Olympics Delaware - Sussex County Area


The Sussex County Area serves people living within the boundaries of Sussex County within zip codes 19930, 19931, 19933, 19939, 19940, 19941, 19944, 19945, 19947, 19950, 19951, 19952, 19954, 19956, 19958, 19960, 19963, 19966, 19967, 19968, 19970, 19971, 19973 and 19975.

Kris Jarecki serves as Area Director of Special Olympics Delaware - Sussex County and can be reached at 302-245-6945 or sode.esussex@gmail.com.

Follow us on Facebook and click on the links below for more information ...

How to join Special Olympics Delaware - Sussex County

News Updates

Sports Schedules

Social Committee Information

Family Information

Area Contacts

How to join Special Olympics Delaware - Sussex County

Athletes, Unified Partners and Volunteers interested in joining Special Olympics Delaware - Sussex County please fill out the online sign-up form or print and submit. Once you submit it, you will be contacted by someone from the Area. If you would like to speak to someone about Special Olympics before signing up, please contact Brenda Zullo at bzullo@udel.edu or 302-831-3479.

News Updates

Area Quarterly Update (Spring 2014)

Sports Schedules

Unless otherwise noted, contact the sports directors for more information about practices (contact info below).

Maple Dale Country Club beginning at 3:30 p.m. on the following dates.  You must register with Faye Yonker at fyonker@aol.com

May 31

July 12, 19 and 26

August 2, 23 and 30

September 6, 20 and 27

2013-14 state-wide sports schedule

Social Committee Information

Want to know when and where the next fun gathering is? This is where you'll find out. Social events for your Area will be added as they are scheduled for the fall.

Family Information

2013-14 state-wide sports schedule

Area Contacts

Area Management Team:

Area Director: Contact Gary Cimaglia - gcimag@udel.edu

Assistant Area Director: Carol Breeding - sode.wsussex@gmail.com

Athlete Liaison: Tessa Skinner; Suzie Schaible - suzieschaible@gmail.com

Athlete Leadership Coordinator: Vacant

Family Liaison: Karen Shaud - kfshaud@yahoo.com

Registration Manager: Candice Skinner - clskin55@gmail.com

Social Manager: Lisa Thorp - Lisa.Thorp@cape.k12.de.us

Volunteer Managers: Marie McIntosh - mariemcintosh522@msn.com; Len Leshem - skeetertl@comcast.net

Fall Sports Directors:

Bocce: Stan Bak - stan.bak@dayzim.com

Cycling: Adam Rones - adam.rones@culverandpierson.com 

Equestrian: Vacant

Flag Football:  Ed Isbell - eisbell2@progressiverail.com

Golf: Linda Bak - linda.bak46@yahoo.com

Long Distance Running: Rob Perciful - rperciful@aol.com

Masters Sports: Vacant

Soccer: Jim Watson - watson.james@mchsi.com  

Volleyball: Vacant

Young Athletes: Carol Mast - cdmast1002@yahoo.com; Liza Dolan - edolan@dtcc.edu

Winter Sports Directors:

Alpine Skiing: Vacant

Basketball: Jim Watson - watson.james@mchsi.com 

Bowling: Nancy Berg - alpharun61@yahoo.com 

Figure Skating: Vacant

Nordic Skiing: Vacant

Roller Skating: Vacant

Snowshoeing: Vacant

Spring Sports Directors:

Aquatics: Lisa Thorp - Lisa.Thorp@cape.k12.de.us

Athletics: Vacant

Bocce: Stan Bak - stan.bak@dayzim.com

Powerlifting: Kate Baird - katebaird@comcast.net

Softball: Vacant

Tennis: Vacant

Young Athletes: Cherie Shear - chkaysh@comcast.net; Dorothea Smith - freedomsmith@live.com

If you are interested in serving in a role that is vacant, please contact Sussex County Area Director Kris Jarecki at 302-245-6945 or sode.esussex@gmail.com.
Special Olympics logo

Special Olympics Delaware
619 S. College Ave
Newark, DE 19716
phone 302.831.4653
fax 302.831.3483